INTERESTING: Blown Call; not reviewable?

NFL Admits Refs Erred In Chiefs-Chargers Game As Blown Call Potentially Cost Steelers Playoff Spot
December 30, 2013 1:28 PM

*** begin quote ***

SAN DIEGO (CBS St. Louis/AP) — The NFL acknowledged that referees erred in not penalizing the San Diego Chargers for an illegal formation on a missed 41-yard field goal attempt by Ryan Succop of the Kansas City Chiefs with four seconds left in regulation on Sunday.

*** and ***

San Diego lined up with seven men on one side of the snapper, and NFL rules state no more than six players can be on the line of scrimmage on either side of the snapper.

The NFL said in a statement Monday that the penalty should have been called by referee Bill Leavy’s crew, moving the ball 5 yards closer to the end zone and giving Succop another attempt at the game-winning field goal. Succop was 15 of 16 this season from within 40 yards.

“The penalty for illegal formation by the defense is a loss of five yards. This rule is not subject to instant replay review. Had the penalty been assessed, it would have resulted in a fourth-and-7 from the San Diego 18 with 0:04 remaining, enabling the Chiefs to attempt a 36-yard field goal,” the NFL said in a statement to

*** end quote ***

My question is: “Why is it NOT reviewable?”

Seems like everything is reviewed!

# – # – # – # – #